NAR_grey_logo-01

CE Exemptions for Age/Experience

A member recently asked us to research how many states offer exemptions from continuing education requirements for license renewal based on age or number of years in the business. A great resource for this research is our excellent State Issues Tracker. If you’re not familiar with it, the State Issues Tracker follows 22 core real estate-related issues on an annual basis that are before state legislatures and regulators. Issues include state RESPA laws, legislation related to home inspectors, agency, and water rights. A couple of hot-button issues are updated more frequently, including appraisal management companies and private transfer fees. The Tracker gives a nice executive summary of the issue, recent changes, and then a state by state breakdown of key information and subtopics. Be aware that although we believe this information to be accurate, as issues are generally updated annually, laws can change and regulations can be modified. View this resource as a good starting point for more in-depth research.

One of the issues tracked is licensing requirements and maintenance. We found that 12 jurisdictions have some form of exemption for continuing education. Only Missouri employs an age-only requirement: if you are at least 80 years old, you are exempt from CE in the Show-Me State.

Other states use an ‘age + experience’ model: California says you have to be licensed in good standing for 30 continuous years and be 70 years of age or older, Mississippi says 25 years and 70 years of age, New Mexico 20 years experience and 65 years old, and South Carolina needs 25 years of licensure and age 65 or older.

Some other states have more convoluted formulas: Alabama says “a licensee who was 65 or older on or before Sept. 30, 2000, and who has been licensed 10 years before that date” is exempt. Kentucky says CE doesn’t apply to brokers who were licensed before June 19. 1976. New York exempts ‘full-time’ brokers who were licensed before July 1, 2008 and have been at it for 15 consecutive years. North Dakota requires exempts to be licensed for 15 continuous years on Jan. 1, 1984. Rhode Island says you had to have been licensed before Dec. 27, 1984. And Texas seems the most confusing to me: If you were exempt from CE requirements before Oct. 31, 1991 then you still are. And finally West Virginia says you had to continually hold a license since July 1, 1969.

If you have questions on the applicability of these exemptions, please contact your state real estate commission for details.

Dave

Senior Information Specialist

More Posts

Comments
  1. Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  2. Dave

    This actually is a WP blog that we manage in-house. We haven’t had any problems with it so far. I think there are several alternatives out there – everything from blogger to tumblr – but can’t really say how they compare.

  3. Great write up on exemptions. It is amazing to me how much different it can be state to state. Out of your opinion which state has the best exemptions and which has the worst. I live in Oregon and am not familiar in how our own laws work, but taking into consideration we are a very liberal state unfortunately who knows what we have in store for us in the upcoming years.

ADD YOUR COMMENT